Blue Egg Books

EGGsellent book reivews

Booking Through Thursday: Nightmare Cast

4 Comments

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading!

This Week’s Question: And, the reverse–which actors have been particularly badly cast in roles of characters you first met in the pages of a book? Do you blame the actors or the writers and other film-people for the failure? Who would you have cast instead?

My Answer: Okay, this is probably the most unpopular opinion of all time and I *can’t* believe I’m going to admit it buutttt… Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter. ::Flamesuit ON::

Breathe, folks, and let me explain.

I can’t imagine a different actor playing Harry (or is that just because he was the one cast..? HM!?) and on the whole, Mr. Radcliffe did a fantastic job. He looked the part (minus the eyes – such a huge deal in the books!), he portrayed all the complexity perfectly, etc.

My biggest problem? Book Harry Potter is SASSY and funny. Movie Potter? Not as much…

Now, I understand this has little to do with Daniel and more to do with the script, writers, the director but I’m going to be honest, I missed Sassy Potter. Every summer I re-read the series (creature of habit) and always remember how much I prefer Book Potter over Movie Potter.

Don’t get me wrong: Daniel Radcliffe IS Harry Potter and I can’t think of a re-cast but I so wish that Daniel/the writers made Harry the Sassy Harry that us book fans all came to love.

So, have I been disowned, blogging world? 😉

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Nightmare Cast

  1. I believe in your judgement. I slept during Harry Potter movies. Shame on me, I haven’t read the book. I plan to read all of them next year, probably join a Potter reading challenge.

  2. I loved the HP books. Movies, not so much…

    Here is my post

  3. Radcliffe played Harry well alright. I doubt anyone else could be him.

  4. I was interested in watching the actors grow up on screen. There was such a huge gap between the first movie and the last that the changes were remarkable (especially as the main ones were teens). The movies got darker and some of that joy and wonderment that I had with the first one dissipated. Here’s mine http://backchattingbooks.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/booking-through-thursday-nightmare-cast/

Leave a Reply

